Best Books: July/August 2014

Welcome to Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop of Dreams by Jenny Colgan: 4 out of 5 stars

We Were Liars by E.Lockhart: 5 out of 5 stars

Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard: 4 out of 5 stars: Review here

Darkest Mercy by Melissa Marr: 5 out of 5 stars [Synopsis will spoil first four books]

Threats of Sky and Sea by Jennifer Ellision: 4 out of 5 stars: Review here (This has a similar feel to Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo)

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins: 5 out of 5 stars

Counting By 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan: 5 out of 5 stars (highly recommended if you like John Green)

Sea Legs by Guy Grieve: 4 out of 5 stars (a non-fiction tale I couldn’t put down; it read like fiction; good for those who don’t get on with non-fiction normally – like me!)

A Madness of Angels by Kate Griffin: 5 out of 5 stars (The definition of urban fantasy. No romance. Takes a while to get into but is SO worth it. Awesome worldbuilding. Author writes as Catherine Webb and Claire North as well.)

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce: 4 out of 5 stars (I nearly DNF’d this one as the descriptive language was so… bizarre. It grew on me though. The book that is, not the langauge. It’s a sweet, fun read. It’s toted as challenging and moving, but I found it sweet and fun, with a few heart-achey bits. And it definitely surprised me. A lot.)

Skink No Surrender by Carl Hiaasen [Skink #7 – Synopsis may spoil previous books] My Review here 5 out of 5 stars

21869936

Landline by Rainbow Rowell – I wasn’t expecting to like this as it didn’t seem like my kind of story, even though I LOVE Fangirl and Attachments. I am so so glad I read it. It is quite different to Rainbow Rowell’s other books, but I LOVED it. The characters were just awesome. ALL of them. This is a new favourite for me. 5 out of 5 stars

12842115

Just One Day [Just One Day #1] by Gayle Forman – I was finally persuaded to read this and I am so glad I did! I LOVED the characters (all of them were so well developed, even passing minor characters. Everyone was unique and solid.) I also loved the travelling parts, loved Wren, loved-to-hate Melanie and Allyson’s mum. I loved Allyson and identified well with her. I wasn’t too crazy about either Willem or the plot. But there was plenty else I loved about this book! 4 out of 5 stars

16195777

Nocturnal Academy #1 by Ethan Somerville – This is free for Kindle, but is the first in a ten-part (so far), series. Also, just to warn you, she doesn’t start the school in this book, which would usually disappoint me massively, but not with this one, This was awesome! Alice just really pops. 4 out of 5 stars

What are the best books you’ve read this summer? Have you read any of these? 

Leave a Reply

