Review: Has Anyone Seen Jessica Jenkins? by Liz Kessler

“Unexpectedly discovering you have a superpower can lead to trouble, as 13-year-old Jessica Jenkins finds out in this exciting new adventure from BLUE PETER BOOK AWARD-shortlisted author, Liz Kessler.

Jessica Jenkins is missing…

Jessica Jenkins has always thought she was a perfectly ordinary girl, until the day that part of her arm vanishes in the middle of a Geography lesson! Her best friend Izzy is determined to help Jessica realise what a great opportunity the power to turn invisible could be, but where has her new ability come from? Does this mean she’s a superhero? And, when her friends are threatened, can Jessica use her superpower to help?

A wonderful new book from bestselling author Liz Kessler.”

Goodreads Description

Thanks to NetGalley and Orion Publishing Group for the copy! 🙂

I requested this one because I loved Liz Kessler’s Emily Windsnap series. I wasn’t expecting this one to be as good as those, leave alone better, and I was right.

Jessica isn’t half as charismatic as Emily Windsnap. Her voice just didn’t capture me at all. I cared enough to worry when she was in trouble, but I was much more interested in her best friend, Izzy.

Liz Kessler’s writing is on the more juvenile end of the “middle grade” scale. Children will adore the magic and the characters accurate to their age range. (Jessica and her friends hanging out at a cafe and discussing Maths and Geography and things made me all nostalgic!). (If you’re in the US, Jessica and co are in Year Eight, which I think is equivalent to seventh grade.) I think younger children than 12/13 would enjoy this too though. They seem like they would be good to read aloud with a younger child.

The superhero aspect was ok. I wasn’t overly into the science-y stuff and if I found it confusing, I’m pretty sure a 12 year old would too. There was only one science-heavy scene that went over my head though. I got the basic concept of how it happened, but there was a bit of science-dumping. Also, I just wasn’t that into how it all happened.

Like I said, I loved Izzy, she was the highlight of this book for me. Smart, kooky, a bit left out. I loved her 🙂

I’d recommend this to those who are after child-friendly superhero books, a light and fun read for when you’re tired or ill, or just for a bit of nostalgia.

Ratings

Quality of Writing:  3 out of 5

Enjoyment Level: 3 out of 5

Emotional Depth: 1 out of 5

[Goodreads Rating: 3 out of 5]

*Plus kudos for an awesome sidekick!

Have you read this one? What did you think? If not, is it on your TBR?

Leave a Reply

