Review: Accession by Terah Edun

“Sixteen-year-old Katherine Thompson wasn’t trained to rule a coven. That was her sister – perfect, beautiful Rose. But when a mysterious plane crash kills off the heir presumptive of the Sandersville coven she has no choice.

After stepping in to fill her sister’s shoes, Katherine realizes she didn’t have a clue – faery wars, depressed trolls and angry unicorns are just the beginning.

For centuries, her family has served the high Queens on both sides of the Atlantic but it is a well-known rule that mid-level witches stay away from high-level Queens.

But when Katherine’s youngest cousin vanishes without a trace in the Atlanta court and no one wants to investigate, Katherine decides to step into the darkness on her own. She will soon discover that nothing, especially in a queen’s court, is as it seems.”

Goodreads Description

Thanks to NetGalley and All Night Reads for the copy! 🙂

I’m a bit conflicted about Accession, if I’m honest, but I can’t help but add it to my ever-growing list of favourite books. I mean, there are were-peacocks and trolls and licorns and EVERYTHING you always wanted in a book but could never find!

I loved it for the sheer imaginative effort. I loved it for Katherine (she was a great character to read about). I loved it for the witches. I loved it for getting me hooked on witch books.

But here’s the thing. It was tough to read sometimes. It kept me hooked and I didn’t want to put it down, but the dialogue was sometimes very stilted. Especially when it was between Katherine and her mother. Also, it didn’t work as a book in its own right. I know it’s the first in a series, but it still has to function as a story on its own with beginning, middle and end. To me, there wasn’t nearly enough information and plot advancement. The ending wasn’t satisfying at all. It felt like the story just stopped. I hope the next one doesn’t take too long because it feels like I’m halfway through a book, rather than one book into a series.  So I will read the sequel because the world is so flipping awesome and I do want to know what happens as well.

I’d recommend this one if you’re after a really new take on fantasy creatures etc. Just be forewarned about the writing, and I would wait until you have the next one as well before starting, to be honest.

Ratings

Quality of Writing: 2 out of 5

Enjoyment Level: 3 out of 5

Emotional Depth: 2 out of 5

[Goodreads Rating: 3 out of 5 ]

*Plus kudos for a BRILLIANT imagination!

Have you read this one? What did you think? Is it on your TBR?

One thought on “Review: Accession by Terah Edun

Leave a Reply

