TBR Jars: July Thoughts and August Picks [Inc Feature Picks for August]

Untitled

So last month’s picks were Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr and The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens.

I LOVED Wicked Lovely. I gave it 4 stars and it made my favourites shelf 🙂 I then devoured the rest of the series back-to-back. The last one was my favourite. I can’t believe I left these on my shelf for so long.

I gave The Old Curiosity Shop a go, but I’m not in the right headspace for really wordy classics right now. Usually summer is my classics time, but not this year. I’ll come back to that one another time.

So despite failing at reading a classic, I still read four books from my own shelves (Wicked Lovely is a five-book series with two or three ebook novellas; but I only own the first four books).

I decided to change up the way I do my TBR Jars, so that they are even less like jars than they were before. Oops! I am going to pick two books from my shelves that I haven’t read before. That’s it, no random number generators, no faffing with bits of paper and actual jars… I’m going to select two books that appeal to me right now, That way I stand more chance of actually reading them.

So August’s picks are:

Pirates! by Celia Rees

A Study In Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle

Sherlock is technically a classic, but hopefully a faster-paced, slightly more modern one.

The feature picks for August

Reading the Future [2 of 6]: Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne

Little Black Book Reviews [2 of 10]: Love and Skate by Lila Felix

The Monthly Meet Melanie [2 of 6]: Films

Hope you’re having a good week! Leave any questions about my film preferences in the comments and I’ll answer them in the Monthly Meet Melanie.

Leave a Reply

