Review: The Last Dragon by M K Hume

 

“The first part in an epic sequel to M.K. Hume’s King Arthur trilogy.

King Artor lies slain and Ector, a mere boy, is acknowledged as the legitimate heir to the kingdom. But the land of the Celts has been weakened, and Ector grows up torn by conflicting senses of doom and duty. It is only his marriage to Gwyllan that gives him a sense of fulfilment.

Meanwhile, Arthur, the Bastard Prince, grows up aware that he is the son of Artor and Lady Elayne but knowing he can never challenge the position of his ruler and childhood friend.

Living in the shadow of King Artor, neither man can escape the his legacy…”

Goodreads Description

Thanks to Bookbridgr and Headline for the copy! 🙂

I know my rating is low for this one, but it isn’t a bad book. It just really wasn’t for me. I love Merlin and Arthur and I wanted to start reading more Arthurian fiction. I thought this would be right up my street. Sadly not.

The Last Dragon has clearly been extensively researched and meticulously plotted and developed.

There is a huge amount of characters, and although there is a character list, I struggled with names and keeping everybody in order. I don’t like needing to refer to a list when I’m reading because it throws me out of the book. Everyone’s names feel similar and the switch-up of familiar characters from the myths was confusing.

I also objected to the brutality of this novel. I know it’s set in Medieval times and they were brutal times, but there are things in this book that just way overdid it for me.

I felt bogged down a lot. It just felt… heavy and overwhelming.  I felt swamped by the style of prose and the vast amounts of info-dumping in the beginning.

All in all, this is a sequel trilogy and I guess you really do need to read the first trilogy first. I don’t think it’s something you can read on its own.

If you like heavy, detailed prose and lots of violence and some really creepy things, then this is probably for you. (The first chapter alone had something horrendous in it. ) This is not a book that shies away from the darker side of humanity.

Ratings 

Quality of Writing: 3 out of 5

Enjoyment Level: 1 out of 5

Emotional Depth: 3 out of 5

[Goodreads Rating: 2 out of 5]

* Plus kudos for freaking me out. It has to be well-written if it can creep you out that much, right?

Leave a Reply

