Review: Serenade by Emily Kiebel

 

“Suddenly the voice she prized is now dangerously seductive…

Lorelei Clark’s only concern was her future as a classically trained soprano, that is, until the day her father was tragically killed. Shattered by his death, she hesitantly accepts an invitation from a mysterious aunt to visit her lavish oceanside home in Cape Cod. She quickly discovers that her aunt and the two women who live with her are harboring a frightening secret they are sirens, terrifying mythical creatures responsible for singing doomed sailors to their deaths. Even more astounding, Lorelei is one of them. In this new world where water comes alive at her touch and an ancient power pulses beneath the tide, the most important rule Lorelei must learn is that a siren never interferes with fate. When she breaks this rule by rescuing a handsome sailor who should have died at sea, the sirens vow she must finish the job or face grave consequences. Finding herself inexplicably attracted to him, she must fight to keep him safe from the others, even if it means risking her own life, and her heart, in the process.”

Goodreads Description

Thanks to NetGalley and SparkPress (a BookSparks imprint) for the copy! 🙂

Before I start, I just want to say that I LOVED this book by the end and would still recommend it. But…

To start with I didn’t like it that much. It was slow and overburdened with too many unnecessary details. Things like kitchen tasks and how the characters moved around. I don’t want to know that Lorelei picked up her mail, opened her bag, put the mail inside etc. The writing needed tightening up and the book would’ve read much better if I wasn’t jilted out of the story all the time with these mundane details. For the first 30% or so, I was relatively bored. I considered whether or not I would  DNF it at one point if it wasn’t a review book, but decided I wouldn’t.

I am so glad I read this book. You have to bear with it, the first 30 – 35% was slow and I was bored, like I said, but – it got better! By the end I was giving it a four-star rating and labelling it a favourite!

I loved the layer of a regular world that peeled away to reveal Lorelei’s new world. I liked the characters although I didn’t connect with Lorelei or her emotions that much. I loved Deirdre/Dee and Helen. They were good characters, I just didn’t gel with Lorelei.

However, the whole siren thing was awesome! I loved the descriptions of them and their powers. I had a great feel for settings and scenes in general whilst reading Serenade. I was absorbed in the book and it felt like a quick read after that first third.

The ending was brilliant but now I need the sequel!! I haven’t finished a book and needed the sequel, like, right now, for a long time. Until Serenade.

ineedit

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars – bear with it; a personal favourite

Leave a Reply

