Library Trip (Oops, I Got More Books!)

 

 

librarytriplogo

 

Yup, I went to the library again. I only meant to pick up two reservations, but their New Books shelf was right in front of me and, um… Strategic shelf-placing really works!!!

 

Created with Nokia Smart Cam

 

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline: Everyone and their cat is raving about this. It’s also the Little Book Group‘s August pick. (This was one of my reservations).

Fireborn by Keri Arthur: The synopsis looked so cool, and it’s new. I hate the cover (it’s the creepy girl. She doesn’t look right at all. The hair/eyes are weird, but I guess it’s accurate to the book?), but new book!

Peas and Queues by Sandi Toksvig: I LOVE Sandi Toksvig, particularly when she’s on QI. I picked this up without caring what it was even about. Now I’ve read the synopsis I’m a bit iffy, but I’ll give it a go anyway.

Sea Legs by Guy Grieve: This looked like an awesome summer read. I’m not sure if it’s fiction or not though. (This isn’t the cover I have. The cover I have looks a bit like the Alias Hook cover.)

Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne: Another raved about book, and the other one I’d reserved. I reserved this one for my Reading the Future feature in August. (This month’s pick is Pure by Julianna Baggott). Should I read Dress Your Marines in White (Monument 14 #0.5) before this book or after? Some prequels are better read before, some after. Which is this one?

Burn by Julianna Baggott: [Goodreads link will spoil previous books.] The final book in the Pure trilogy. (I’ll be reviewing the first one on Monday). I love how this is a naked hardcover. They seem to be making more and more hardcovers without jackets. However, I hate that it doesn’t match the first two books. WHY MUST THEY DO THIS TO US?!!! I need to get Fuse first, so I reserved that, but brought this home with me anyway because it’s such a nice hardcover, despite being naked and me panicking that I’ve lost the jacket somewhere. (If you’re interested, I read hardcovers naked for comfort.  This means I panic a lot when the book isn’t mine and I can’t find the jacket.) :p (Even if said jacket doesn’t actually exist!)

So that’s my library doings for today! I keep staring at the copy of Burn, partly because it came without a jacket (this is very new to me. Hardcovers are nowhere near as popular in Britain as they are in the USA. Most books don’t even get produced in hardcover. Especially not debut authors. So this new naked hardcover thing probably won’t be as big a thing here which is why I’m so excited about Burn). But also because it just is a really nice shape, size, feel. I just like the aesthetics of it. I don’t like the cover because it doesn’t match Pure and Fuse AND THIS ANNOYS ME SO MUCH!!

 

 

Am I weird or do the aesthetics of a book please anyone else?

What have you borrowed/bought/received recently?

Leave a Reply

