YA Reader’s Little Black Book Review (1 of 10): Madly by M Leighton

Reviewing all the books in the Kindle pack - YA Reader's Little Black Book

Reviewing all the books in the Kindle pack – YA Reader’s Little Black Book

 

Welcome to my new feature! The first book in this free pack of ten I chose to read and review was:

“Madly is your average nearly-eighteen year old girl—for a princess, that is.

Madly James is thoroughly enjoying her internship in the small town of Slumber when the unthinkable happens—there’s a prison break in Atlas, the magically-protected home of Madly’s race. A traitor has set free eight Lore, the spirits of what humans know as fairy tales, and they are making their way to Slumber to awaken their descendants. 

In order to save her home, the lives of her family, and all of humanity, Madly must learn to wield her exceptional powers and recapture the Lore before it’s too late and all is lost. But Madly’s only help are her two best friends and the Sentinel, Jackson Hamilton, that threatens both her heart and her destiny. Madly has loved Jackson as long as she can remember, but he is the one thing even a princess can’t have. Can she resist love to become the queen she was fated to be? Or can she find a way to have both?

This novelette introduces you to Madly and prepares you for the quest of a lifetime.”

Goodreads Description

Madly was a short book of only 57 pages, but still an enjoyable read. I had a few issues with it though, mostly with the writing style and Madly herself.

Madly was very bratty and immature. I learned from the extract of the second book at the end (because by the time I read the book I’d forgotten the synopsis), that she is almost eighteen. I was surprised. I thought she was somewhere around the 13/14 mark, and a very immature 13/14 at that. Jersey was just as bad.

I did however, love the history and the worldbuilding, but I needed more. I felt like I was given a thimbleful when I wanted/needed a cup full. Greedy me! I know there are two other books (so far) that continue the story and, I suppose, expand the world a bit, but I felt that I wasn’t given enough in this book. I would prefer to read this as a full length novel rather than one story split into three or more. I think what I’m trying to say is that as a book it didn’t work on its own, which even a part of a series should. It just… stopped. It was a bit like reading a sampler with the first few chapters.

Like I said, I did enjoy it. As Madly developed her magic, I was intrigued. I like the magic system, I like the worldbuilding, the characters drive me nuts but I kind of like them a little, and I do want to find out what happens next. Basically, I’ll read the next book because I love the world and want to be immersed in it some more.

That said, I’ll read pretty much anything clean about mermaids. So I could be biased, but if you love merfolk too, maybe give this one a shot.

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars – a fun read, but many issues

Leave a Reply

