Review: Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard

 

“A THRILLING QUEST, FORBIDDEN LOVE AND AN EMPIRE ON THE BRINK. MOTH AND SPARK IS THE PRINCESS BRIDE MEETS GAME OF THRONES … WITH A DASH OF JANE AUSTEN.

He’s cursed with an impossible task. She’s blessed with magical visions.

Together they can save a divided Empire.

Prince Corin has been given the task of freeing the dragons from their bondage to the Empire. However, it seems that that not even the dragonriders themselves know how these terrifying beasts are kept under control.

When Tam, a doctor’s daughter, arrives in the capital she makes an amazing discovery: she is a Seer, gifted with visions.

Sparks fly when Corin and Tam meet … but it’s not all happily ever after. Not only is the prince forbidden to marry a commoner, but war is coming to Caithen. Torn between love and duty, they must work together to uncover the secret that threatens to destroy their country.” 

Goodreads Description

Thanks to Bookbridgr and Headline for the copy! 🙂

I went into this excited but daunted. It’s been dubbed as Pride and Prejudice with dragons, and this kind of scared me a little. I was expecting heavy prose  that was hard to get through, but Moth and Spark wasn’t like that at all.  [Disclaimer: I haven’t read Pride and Prejudice, as I am daunted by that kind of writing. I do have it though. I actually got it for my Kindle because I loved Moth and Spark so much!].

It took a couple of chapters for me to really get into it, but once I did I couldn’t put it down. The world was fantastic, the characters were well-developed and the relationships were genuine and believable. I don’t think I’ve read a book where I particularly liked the main romantic relationship before. This one felt like a real relationship, with conversation and affection. They were an intellectual couple and I loved their reliance on each other’s knowledge and skills. It was just beautiful.

I will say though, that a huge chunk of the book is court intrigue and political stuff. I expected to be bored stiff but I wasn’t! It was so well done that I was just as hooked as I am reading something with a lot of action and fantasy. The fantasy feels like more of a backdrop to the romantic element, rather than the other way round. Personally, I loved this. It was refreshing and unique.

As for the dragons… Not so great. I loved the final scenes but I always felt detached from the fantasy elements of Moth and Spark. I was caught up in the world and absorbed in the characters, but the fantasy was slightly lost on me. (Normally relationships are lost on me instead). It was odd (but nice!), for me to be sucked into the romance aspect and lost on the fantasy. I wouldn’t say I’m complaining though.  Also, I didn’t think there was much originality in terms of the dragons. It felt very like Eragon.

If you’re a die-hard fantasy fan and you want dragons, dragons, DRAGONS, this maybe isn’t for you, unless you want to try something different. It is still a great book! Am I disappointed with the dragon aspect myself? Honestly, yes. I am a dragons, dragons, DRAGONS person. 🙂 There wasn’t nearly enough of the dragons in this, and what was there wasn’t really new.

But I loved Moth and Spark enough to:

A) Call it a favourite

B) Want to read Pride and Prejudice, finally

C) Read more historical fiction

D) Get more into the romantic relationships between characters in the books I read

That’s a lot of doorways opened up, as well as a new favourite book!

I hope you give this one a shot. I’m very glad I did. 🙂

I really hope this stays as a stand-alone. Not because I don’t want more, but because I loved it so much.

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars – what an eye-opener!

One thought on “Review: Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard

Leave a Reply

