Library Trip (Super Excited About This Lot!)

librarytriplogo

 

So I caved and ended up going to the library again… But in my defence, I only had two books out that I hadn’t read yet! I still have these from the last few trips:

 

Created with Nokia Smart Cam

 

And yeah, that really hurt my arm. The Ambassador’s Mission is heavier than it looks! A  Madness of Angels is not so heavy but has tiny print.

So this is my library adventure for today! (I realise that I forgot to pop Maxie the mascot on top of the pile like I usually do. Sorry!)

Created with Nokia Smart Cam

The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler: I’ve heard about this one A LOT but never picked it up. Looking on Goodreads though, it doesn’t have great reviews/ratings. So we’ll see.

The Book of Summers by Emylia Hall: Having recently read and ADORED A Heart Bent Out Of Shape by this author (It’s titled The Swiss Affair in the USA), I had to nab this one.

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan: I’d never even heard of this one before this morning. I picked it up to read the blurb based on two things – I’d never heard of it before, and it had fish on the cover. Yep. (Note to publishers: apparently it isn’t hard to get my attention) IT HAS FISH ON THE COVER! What… just… what else do you NEED? Fish! Admittedly, since stalking Goodreads, I’ve found I prefer the other cover, where the fish are coloured on white instead of being monochrome on blue. But yeah. This looks really childish because of the basic cover and font, but on reading the synopsis, the book looks like a heart breaker. Some tough issues going on here.

Cover I Like Best

Cover I Have

Darkest Mercy (Wicked Lovely #5) by Melissa Marr [Synopsis may spoil previous books. First book synopsis here.]: Wicked Lovely was July’s TBR Jar pick, and I loved it so much I binge read the second and third one and am currently 40 pages from finishing the fourth. Darkest Mercy is the last one and the only one I don’t own. This was a reservation I collected.

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce: This comes up in Writing Magazine so much. It won the Man Booker prize a year or two ago. That’s all I know. The hype is huge and I’ve never read it but have meant to for ages now.

Wreckers by Julie Hearn: I’ve never heard of this one but it looked good. I didn’t realise until I got home that the image on the front is a mermaid. Doh! I mean, me, missing a mermaid? HOW DID I MANAGE THAT?!

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan: I just read the Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop novel and loved it, so I wanted more Jenny Colgan.

The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen: I picked this up thinking, “Oh that looks good!”, then got home, looked it up on Goodreads and realised what it was. I didn’t recognise the cover! So I hope I will enjoy this one since it’s been a to-read on Goodreads for ages. AND I DIDN’T EVEN RECOGNISE IT! My bad.

The Cover I Recognise

The Cover I Have

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black: My library has FINALLY bought this! I’m so so so happy! I’ve wanted to read this one since Holly Black first released details of it on Tumblr like, forever ago.

Landline by Rainbow Rowell: YAAAAAY! This was a reservation I picked up. Do I… need more words here?

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness: I’ve never read Patrick Ness. My bad. But this was on the shelf, and I didn’t realise the book was an illustrated YA, but it is, so now I’m even more intrigued.

In case you missed them on Twitter, here are my Landline selfie and my Holly Black book excitement thing:

Created with Nokia Smart Cam Created with Nokia Smart Cam

Now all I have to do is pick what to read first, once I’m done with the Wicked Lovely books…

2 thoughts on “Library Trip (Super Excited About This Lot!)

  1. One of the hardest things for me to do after a library trip is deciding what in the world to start with because I want to read every single one!

    Looks like you had a great trip to the library! Enjoy your books! 🙂

    • I end up eeny-meeny-miney-mo-ing a lot 🙂

      I decided to read the Trudi Canavan one I already had out first as I’ve run out of renews and it needs returning next week, but after that I’m torn between The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, Landline, Wreckers and Counting By 7s.

      Reading anything good at the moment?

Leave a Reply

