Ten Books I Didn’t Finish

As a writer myself, I often wonder about what makes people put a book down. I don’t often DNF a book myself – when I do it is usually just because it isn’t my thing. Not because the book is bad. Otherwise, I just put books down because it isn’t what I want to read at that time. I do this a lot with my library books until I find the right one for my mood and stick with it. So here are some books I’ve put down unfinished.

Ones I Will Go Back To

1. Good Omens and Nation by Terry Pratchett

The only reason I gave up on both of these is simply because I just wasn’t in the mood for them at the time. I have copies and I will read them at some point.

Ones I’ll Never Go Back To

2.Magic Kingdom For Sale/Sold by Terry Brooks

This was my fourth Terry Brooks novel and I just don’t get on with his writing style.

3. Wards of Faerie by Terry Brooks

I gave up on this one because it felt way too similar to another of his books that I’d read. The plotline was too similar and it frustrated me.

4. Earthfall by Mark Walden

This just really wasn’t my thing at all.

5. Stray by Rachel Vincent

Way too violent for me.

6. Raven’s Gate by Anthony Horowitz

Too creepy for me. But if you like creepy books, I recommend this one.

7. Ragwitch by Garth Nix

Another really creepy one.

8. Metawars: Fight for the Future by Jeff Norton

This isn’t really my type of thing, but there was a scene very early on that was really icky and that’s what made me put the book down.

9. The Letter by Maria Duffy

I hated the characters in this book and just couldn’t connect with the book as a whole.

Ones I Might Go Back To

10. The Stranger by Max Frei

This looked like an AWESOME fantasy world but the writing style is so weird and confusing it hurt my head.

I’m curious… What makes you put down a book? Are you a mood reader like me? Do you have pet peeves that will automatically make you abandon a book? 

(Sorry if some of these are your favourites; I haven’t put them up here because I think they’re badly written, with the exception of one or two, but just because they aren’t for me. )

4 thoughts on “Ten Books I Didn’t Finish

  1. Cait says:

    I haven’t read any of those, so I don’t know about them! But there aren’t many things that’ll make me put down a book for good. I get very twitchy about books I haven’t finished. >-< (Although that can be bad, finishing a book I hate, because my reviews can get a little ranty.) I'll put down a book if the writing is just so, so badly edited and awkward…or if the content is just SO far from my style.

    • I always feel guilty for DNFing. I’m a bit of a perfectionist and unfinished books seem to irritate me. I used to absolutely never DNF, but I let myself do that now.

      Ranty reviews can be fun though 🙂 I’ve not been following your blog too long, but I have seen a negative review or two by you, and I enjoyed them a lot 🙂

  2. I am certainly a mood reader! There are many times where I’ll finally get a book out of the library but then not be in the mood for it, so I’ll try it again later. I can’t think of any specific pet peeves (but I’m sure I have some…!). In general, I drop a book if it doesn’t hold my attention, which usually happens when the book turns out differently from my expectations (built from reviews, publisher description’s, etc.)

    • Ahh, the trouble with hype! What books haven’t lived up to the hype for you? Shadow and Bone let me down, although I loved Alina’s character development and the magic system.

      I don’t like when a book isn’t at all what the publisher describes it as and you end up like, “What am I even reading?” I can’t think of any specific examples but I read something recently where the synopsis didn’t match the book at all. I can’t remember what it was though. This is also annoying when you love the book and the synopsis completely fails it.

Leave a Reply

