Review: Beauty’s Beast by Jenna Kernan

“He was the son of her sworn enemy… and now the only one who could save her

Samantha Proud doesn’t think her life could get any more complicated—or tragic. Since she dared to save a human boy from evil spirits, Nagi, the Ruler of Ghosts, has been actively stalking her family. Still, she never expected well-meaning Thunderbirds to scatter them to the four winds, dumping her at the feet of Alon Garza, a gorgeous Halfling, for safekeeping.

Alon has never met anyone like the sensual shifter who has just been literally dropped into his woods. Because of who he is, he never wanted to be with a woman for more than one night. Now, to keep Samantha safe, his only choice is to claim her. But will his desire expose the dark truth he’s been fighting for so long?”

Goodreads Description

Thanks to Jenna Kernan for sending me this in addition to the book I won on Goodreads [The Vampire’s Wolf: Review Here]! 🙂

I didn’t enjoy this one as much as The Vampire’s Wolf, unfortunately. I liked Samantha a lot more than I liked Bri in Vampire’s Wolf , but I wouldn’t say I liked her. The idea of a bear shifter was awesome, and the way shifters worked in this book was brilliant though.

Although there was a ton of stuff going on, I still felt bored in places. There were times where there was too much detail in terms of what actions people were doing. I got bored following it.

My main complaint with Beauty’s Beast is that it’s trying to be two things at once in a 280 page novel. There was way too much going on for such a short book. I personally felt that Beauty’s Beast needed to be either a paranormal romance or something more like an epic fantasy. It had the kind of huge storyline that would have worked perfectly as an epic fantasy with 500 or so pages. I found the romance side of Beauty’s Beast unpleasant and unrealistic. I didn’t find it believable at all. However, it was a massive part of the book and I really felt that the rest of the storyline was too big to set that romance in. I wish it had been written as fantasy that happened to have romance in it.

There is a glossary at the back of Beauty’s Beast to help explain the terminology used. There are A LOT of different types of people and abilities. It was very confusing. Again, too much for such a short book.

If you read paranormal romance for the romance, this isn’t your best bet. If you read paranormal romance for the paranormal, this one is worth a shot.

To conclude, Beauty’s Beast was a huge fantasy storyline crammed into a 280 page romance novel. It just didn’t work for me. I hope the author writes regular fantasy novels one day, because she has so much potential. The worlds she builds are incredible – I wish they had the freedom to really shine.

My Rating: 2 out of 5 stars – Not great; potential to be incredible but was restricted by the short romance novel format which it didn’t gel with.

Leave a Reply

