The Monthly Meet Melanie (1): Books

monthlymeetmelanielogo

 

Well we all know I love books! I’ve been a reader since I learnt to read as a small child. I’ve been a member of the library since I was two. πŸ™‚

I grew up reading fantasy and adventure stories. Also, the classics, like Anne of Green Gables and Little Women. Even though I am now 24, I still love the same books I did as a child. Harry Potter, the Edge Chronicles, Β the Faraway Tree, the Wishing Chair (basically anything Enid Blyton), Roald Dahl, Phillip Pullman, The Hobbit, Alice in Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass, Narnia, Dianna Wynne Jones, The Water Horse by Dick King Smith, Watership Down by Richard Adams…

As a teen my friends and I read all the girlie things like Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants, but apart from that one, none of the girlies books have stayed with me as I grew up. I still liked fantasy but I don’t remember discovering anything new in that genre as a teen. Except for four books that remain favourites of mine: Witch Child and its sequel Sorceress by Celia Rees, The Dream Merchant by Isobel Hoving and The Seer and the Sword by Victoria Hanley. Also, the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Favourites that I studied at school or later on for my English Literature Diploma are: Of Mice and Men, Arthur Miller (in particular Death of a Salesman), and Frankenstein. I also loved Great Expectations, but I read that outside of study.

As a young woman I focussed solely on fantasy (mostly YA fantasy). Favourites include Eragon, Discworld, Eoin Colfer, Catherine Webb, The Sword in the Stone, David Eddings, the Icemark Chronicles, Jonathan Stroud, G.P.Taylor, The Abhorsen series by Garth Nix…

When I hit, sort of, 22/23 I started branching out with my reading. I discovered a love for really emotional YA and branched more into adult fantasy novels and a few general adult fiction novels. I also fully embraced my love of YA and began reading it whole-heartedly, not caring that I was reading YA in my twenties. (I discussed this here).

I’ve very recently discovered that I like some sci-fi and some dystopia. Favourites include The Hunger Games, Divergent, Cinder… I’m still exploring this genre. (I haven’t finished any of those three series’ yet so please don’t leave spoilers in the comments.)

So in addition to everything I’ve already mentioned, here are some of my favourite books and authors: Trudi Canavan, Richelle Mead, Cassandra Clare, the Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, the Nicholas Flamel series by Michael Scott, Ally Carter, Cassandra Rose Clarke, Still Alice by Lisa Genova, Natalie Whipple, Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, John Green, Monkey Wars by Richard Kurti, Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher, Gail Carriger, The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler, Linda Buckley-Archer’s Gideon Trilogy, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, Frostfire by Zoe Marriott, The Sea Sisters by Lucy Clarke, The Camelot Code by Mari Mancusi, The Disgrace of Kitty Grey by Mary Hooper, Vivien’s Heavenly Ice Cream Shop by Abby Clements, Marie Brennan’s Lady Trent books, Michelle Harrison’s “13” series, The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson, David H Burton’s Land of Verne series, Daughter of Smoke and Bone…

As you can see, I read fairly widely now. πŸ™‚ Feel free to add me on Goodreads [https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/19441627-melanie] and snoop around my shelves. πŸ™‚ For some reason, I haven’t yet added my Discworld books to my favourites, but Terry Pratchett is one of my top ten authors, so I should fix that soon!

Sorry there aren’t Goodreads links for these, it would take me forever! If you’re interested in a book or author I’ve mentioned and can’t find them, leave me a comment and I’ll try to help. πŸ™‚

I hope you’ve enjoyed getting to know me a bit more. πŸ™‚

Feel free to share some of your favourites with me. What do we have in common? What would like me to share with you next month? Films? Food? Animals?

One thought on “The Monthly Meet Melanie (1): Books

Leave a Reply

