Review: Carnelian [Chalcedony Chronicles #1] by B. Kristin McMichael

“Everyone has a past, but for most it isn’t so far in the past as Seth Sangre. His past is literally from thousands of years ago. Seth’s past led him to the present seeking something that might help him save his country from destruction. He has been in the present for over three years now, and he just found exactly what he has been looking for. Mari had dreams of college being a fresh start, one where she would start over and not fall for the good looking player like high school. Unfortunately for her, that’s exactly what ends up falling into her lap on the first day she moves into the dorms. Now she has to hold to her promise to herself not fall for the handsome Seth Sangre. But he doesn’t plan to make it easy for her. Seth has already marked her as his next conquest. 

As the semester progresses, Mari learns that Seth might just have a past of his own that’s literally in the past. Suddenly, Mari finds her future along with her past put into question. She’s connected to Seth far more than she ever wanted to be, and maybe he isn’t the player who she thought he was. If Mari can trust her heart enough to follow him, Seth will lead Mari on an adventure of a lifetime-and reveal family secrets she never knew existed.”

Goodreads Description

Thanks to Netgalley and Lexia Press for the review copy! 🙂

Carnelian was a great book! I enjoyed the characters, I had great images in my head, and I was absorbed in the world. I wanted to go back and read more, to see what happened next, to spend more time with Mari, Sim, Seth and the others.

It wasn’t predictable – I didn’t  spot anything too much earlier than when it was revealed, which is nice. I’ve been going through a phase of reading things I find too predictable lately, so Carnelian was a welcome break from that!

The one thing that I would complain about with Carnelian is the grammar and spelling. I can’t help it; I’m qualified as an editor – these things bug me. I still enjoyed the book though, and if you’re like me and are easily irritated by that kind of thing, read it anyway! The story is good and the characters are vivid and real.

Carnelian was a fun read. There was enough to keep me interested and I was invested in the characters. It was light-hearted and didn’t bruise my feels. I do normally prefer books that poke me in the heart a bit, but it’s sometimes nice to pick up something lighter. It would be a good book to read on holiday by the pool.

Also, THAT COVER! All the pretty colours! *strokes inner magpie*

Those of you who don’t like cliffhanger endings will like Carnelian; but don’t read the extract from book 2! Major cliffhanger! I made that mistake and now have to stalk Amazon for the release of Chrysophase. 🙂 There is also an extract from another of the author’s trilogies: The Legend of the Blue Eyes. That has me hooked as well! B. Kristin McMichael is definitely a writer to watch.

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars – My guilty pleasure; when is the next one out?

Leave a Reply

