A – Z Bookish Tag

I first stumbled across this on YouTube in vlog format, uploaded by Emily from Oh Magic Hour.  It was originally created by Jamie from the Perpetual Page Turner in blog format. She updated it recently with this vlog. The blog post gives instructions on how to use Goodreads to find which author you’ve read the most from (under A) and the longest book you’ve read (under L).

Author you’ve read the most books from:

I didn’t need to use Goodreads for this, but I double-checked anyway – Terry Pratchett 🙂

Best Sequel Ever:

Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers by J. R.R . Tolkien – this is my favourite of the LOTR books.

Currently Reading:

The Vampire’s Wolf by Jenna Kernan

and

Pure by Julianna Baggott

Drink of Choice While Reading:

If it’s hot weather, fruit juice (my favourite is cranberry and raspberry), iced tea (peach!), water, or something fizzy (I like Sprite, 7up and Dr Pepper, but my favourite is Pepsi).

If it’s cold weather, black coffee is my favourite hot drink, but I also like sweet tea (with milk, but strong), and hot chocolate (the Wispa one!).

E-reader or Physical Book:

I will always, always, ALWAYS prefer a physical book (preference for paperback), but I am the proud owner of a Kindle now (I’ve had it for a fortnight, maybe less), and I like that too. I haven’t wanted an e-reader before now. But I caved, and yes, I like my Kindle. 🙂

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

I hadn’t worked out my sexuality then and dated boys. I was at the bottom of the pile in the social pecking order and so were the boys I dated. Except they were usually in the year above, so I probably would have done a Ginny and dated:

Neville Longbottom.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

 

Hidden Gem Book:

 

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

Reading this book:

This is the book that got me into the contemporary YA stuff. The heart-wrenching “feels” type of books. It opened the door to so much for me. This book will always matter to me.

Just Finished:

My review will be up on Friday.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

Horror; most crime (I’m partial to the Agatha Raisin series though); adult “romance”; romance in general; most thrillers; most non-fiction; most sci-fi; psychological thrillers/horror…

Longest Book You’ve Read:

It would be one of the Harry Potters, so to be more interesting, after my Harry fix, the longest book I’ve read is this one:

I gave it 5 stars and added it to my Favourites shelf (on Goodreads).

Major book hangover because of:

This grew on me so much after I’d finished it. I can’t stop thinking about it and I read it a month ago.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Two tall, thin ones. Some of my big reference books are on a different unit though and I have a stool for my library books.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

I don’t have this exact book – I have a hardback containing three Wishing Chair books and a hardback containing three Faraway Tree books, plus the fourth Faraway Tree, which is a rare illustrated paperback. It’s the hardback Faraway Tree I’m going to give as my answer to this. Again, I’m skipping the Harry Potters and The Hobbit here, because they’re obvious choices for me.

Preferred Place To Read:

On my settee, or in bed. If my dreams came true I’d read in the garden on nice days, or even better by the sea or a lake.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

From: greenquotes.tumblr.com

Reading Regret:

My biggest reading regret is that I will NEVER be able to read even 10% of all the things I want to read, or haven’t heard of yet that are totally me, or that haven’t been written yet that are totally me.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(where all books are out in the series):

1. Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

2. Fated by Alyson Noel

3. Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

5. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

6. Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor

7. Divergent by Veronica Roth

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

I think you’ve noticed by now… The Hobbit, Harry Potter and Ketchup Clouds. #sooriginal

If you want my top three recent reads off the top of my head: The Hunger Games, Cinder and The Fault In Our Stars. Again with the oh-so-original answers, Melanie!

Slightly more original answers… Transparent by Natalie Whipple, Looking for Alaska, and The Sea Sisters by Lucy Clarke. (It’s more commonly known as Swimming at Night).

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

 

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Worst Bookish Habit:

Stuffing books in my handbag to take to the laundrette with me? Does that count? I crack spines but only because I can’t read the book comfortably without doing that. (I try especially hard not to crack spines of borrowed books.)  I’m also guilty of taking the covers off library books while I read them. Either for general comfort or because I want to see the cover art on a hardback. And sometimes because the library’s plastic stuff has been ripped or cracked and it’s cutting into my hand.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

Your latest book purchase:

I haven’t bought a book in a very long time. (I’d like to, but can’t). Hence… FREE KINDLE BOOKS WIN! And this is the last one of those I nabbed.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY too late):

I wanted to read this in one go as it is set over the course of one night and I wanted to go on this journey with Clay in the same time frame as he did.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this tag and that it has given you some insight into my reading habits! I tag… YOU! (Leave me links, please) 🙂

Leave a Reply

