Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on My Summer TBR

brokeandbookish.com

brokeandbookish.com

 

This week’s theme is the top ten books on your To Be Read list for this summer. I am, as usual, cheating. :p Where I plan on devouring an entire series over the next few months, I’ve listed them as one item. So here we go, no particular order, and the links go to Goodreads (to the series’ page) so you can see what the series is about 🙂 . I’ve split it into two sections though: Blockbusters and Other.

Blockbusters

The Hunger Games #2 and #3 by Suzanne Collins

Divergent #1, #2, and #3 by Veronica Roth

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Daughter of Smoke and Bone #2 and #3 by Laini Taylor

Mortal Instruments #6 by Cassandra Clare

The Lunar Chronicles #2, #3 (and also #2.5 on Wattpad) by Marissa Meyer

Other

13 Treasures #0.5 by Michelle Harrison

Magician’s #3 by Lev Grossman

(Click on the word Magician’s above to see the first two books, and the #3 to see the third one)

Deep Blue Sea by Tasmina Perry

Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop of Dreams by Jenny Colgan

So what have you got lined up for the summer? Or winter, if you’re in the Southern Hemisphere?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on My Summer TBR

  1. Cheater, cheater! But who cares because it’s your blog and you can do what you want! 😛

    Did you like the other Magician’s books. I have the first one, but I’ve read so many mixed reviews about it.

    I still need to read Scarlet and Cress as well. I really liked Cinder, but I just have a terrible time finishing series. I have no idea why. I still haven’t finished Divergent either. I only read the first book. :/

    Great list! 🙂

    • I loved the first one, but the second one was a bit too dark in places for me. I wonder what the third one will entail? I thought it was the end of it all after Magician King. I hope there’s more about the college – those were my favourite parts. But then, I’m a sucker for magical schools, lol. I did really enjoy the first one though.

      I loved Cinder too!

      How was Divergent? I just picked up my copy this morning. I’ll maybe have it as a weekend read this weekend 🙂

  2. I’m looking forward to The Magician’s Land too! It’s going to be good.

    Totally need to read Cinders sometime time soon. From seeing Scarlet & Cress on your list I assume you enjoyed the first book?

    • Cinder was awesome! I didn’t think I was going to like it; I was very apprehensive, but I loved it and can’t believe I put it off for so long. The novellas are beautiful too. (They’re free on Wattpad. I’ll share links if you want.) I need to get my current library stack out the way so I can let myself order Scarlet in. (I have to be strict with myself or I’d be buried in books, lol). 🙂

      I can’t think what Magician’s Land will be about. I genuinely thought it was all over after Magician King. I want more Fillory and more of the college. Is there anything in particular you’re hoping for in it?

  3. Goodness, you are going to be busy this summer! Enjoy those blockbusters. This isn’t a first-time read for those, is it?
    I also have Landline on my list. Rainbow Rowell is my homegirl, and I CANNOT WAIT to get my hands on that book.

    • Yes, it is a first time for all of them. I’m so behind! I plan on doing some rereads this summer too – the Sabriel trilogy (ready for Clariel!), and maybe His Dark Materials by Phillip Pullman. I’ve been meaning to reread those for ages.

      I loved Attachments and Fangirl. Fangirl is my favourite. I’m not that into the premise of Landline, but I’m still super excited because new Rainbow Rowell book! I wasn’t that into the premise of Attachments either, but I LOVED that. Also, the old-fashioned phone covers for Landline are so cute! Which of her books is your favourite?

  4. I need to get around to reading Mockingjay too but I’ll probably wait till the movie comes out at the end of the year to do so.

    The only comment I can make for Divergent is for you to go into the series and each successive novel based on your own opinions/enjoyment factor. (Because it seems like there’s a sample size in mixed reviews that suggest to read Divergent but stay away from the other two novels…)

    Hope you have a blast reading all of these though!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • I’ve heard a lot of people complain about Insurgent and then say that Allegiant isn’t as good as they wanted it to be because of Insurgent. Thanks for the advice 🙂 Did you enjoy the trilogy?

      • I thought it was okay for what it was! (Can’t say much without the spoils). I think for me it was like…
        Divergent = Insurgent > Allegiant. I’d elaborate but I’ll definitely wait till you read it then we can chat!

Leave a Reply

