Review: Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L Armentrout

 

“Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens. 

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 

If I don’t kill him first, that is.” Goodreads Description

I found this book very likeable, although I also had more than a few issues with it. The writing was compelling, the world drew me in and I could really feel the characters, so I would still recommend this book.

If there’s one thing I find that determines whether I am enjoying a book or not it’s the urge to come back and read more. Jennifer L Armentrout had this in spades! I just had to read more, despite the issues. I think this series will be my guilty book pleasure, as I’m not normally one to overlook certain things. A book with a lot of things I dislike is usually a book I dislike.

So what were my problems with it?

1. Katy’s reaction to what she found out. Seriously? This would terrify me, turn my world upside down and shake it around, and generally freak me the heck out! I’ve seen a lot of bloggers make this complaint – that Katy’s reaction was just so unbelievable. Had it been done better, the feels in the book would have been awesome!

2. I didn’t find the whole love-hate relationship believable. I found it contrived on purpose as a plot device.

3. Don’t get me wrong, I love that Katy is a book blogger, it was so nice to read about a character who has a book blog. I’ve not come across this in fiction at all. I also felt that it was a nice gesture towards the reviewing community (if this was what it was done for), but it felt SO awkward. It made me cringe a few times. It also didn’t seem that big a part of Katy’s life. I felt like she wasn’t really interested. I don’t like things being put into books just to make a point or just for the sake of it. If it doesn’t fit the story and the characters, it feels… wrong.

4. It was too obvious what was going on, and the Lux did absolutely everything they could to draw attention to themselves instead of the opposite, like they said they were doing. The unnecessary meanness etc. Also, the synopsis gives too much away, considering how the first half of the book goes. It just takes too long for the characters to figure stuff out that readers already knew  and I got frustrated.

So why have I rated this book so highly? Apart from the mysterious compelling feeling that I WANTED TO READ MORE RIGHT NOW, KTHXBAI. Well that was the main reason, the other reason was the characters.

Katy annoyed me no end, BUT the situation with her father was very real and very well done. I get sick of reading books where the characters aren’t real about a parental issue. They never think about them or whatever, when that is totally unreal. It was nice to see those kinds of situations handled more genuinely. I could identify with Katy on that. She was still affected by it; it wasn’t something that was in the past, fixed, done, bye-bye. It was still a big deal and a part of her life. That to me is much more genuine and made Katy seem human, rather than a flat book character who doesn’t really have feelings.

And Dee… Oh I loved Dee! I see a lot of myself in her, and she’s my new book crush. I haven’t a book crush since Tessa Gray in Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices trilogy. She’ s also exactly the kind of person I would gell with. I just can’t tell you enough how awesome Dee is! I have to read more Lux books just for her!

I can’t get my head around this book. It’s full of things that bug me, but it’s full of things I love. I want to throw it at the wall, but I also want to hug it.

I loved the new take on YA Paranormal and it’s about the only sci-fi I’ve read that’ I’ve enjoyed so far. (I’m new at this genre. If you are too, I would say Obsidian is a great place to start.) I’m not really into much in this field, but I did love Obsidian. Don’t be put off by the sci-fi aspect. It was awesome!

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars – sci-fi for the non sci-fi readers, as well as the sci-fi fans

P.S Can I just mention that I HATE the cover? Yes? Ok, glad to get that off my chest.

3 thoughts on “Review: Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L Armentrout

Leave a Reply

