Review: The Hangman’s Revolution (W.A.R.P #2) by Eoin Colfer

 

Young FBI agent Chevie Savano arrives back in modern-day London after a time-trip to the Victorian age, to find the present very different from the one she left. Europe is being run by a Facsist movement known as the Boxites, who control their territory through intimidation and terror. Chevie’s memories come back to her in fragments, and just as she is learning about the WARP program from Professor Charles Smart, inventor of the time machine, he is killed by secret service police. Now they are after Chevie, too, but she escapes–into the past. She finds Riley, who is being pursued by futuristic soldiers, and saves him. Working together again, it is up to Chevie and Riley to find the enigmatic Colonel Clayton Box, who is intent on escalating his power, and stop him before he can launch missiles at the capitals of Europe.Goodreads Description

 

Thanks go to Netgalley and Penguin Books for the review copy. 🙂

The book is due for release on June 26th (release date may differ outside the UK).

I was so excited to get an advance copy of this! I love Eoin Colfer’s books and I found the first W.A.R.P book so exciting and action-packed that I couldn’t wait to see what happened next.

The Hangman’s Revolution explores the consequences of time travel, which I find really interesting as many of the time travel books I’ve read don’t seem to go into what happens to the time stream when people start playing with it. They go in, they get out. The getting out seems to be the bones of most time travel plots, but not here. The Hangman’s Revolution is all about what happens when you change history, and it is BRILLIANT.

There’s a touch of dystopia in the beginning, for those of you who like that, and all your favourite characters, plus some new ones. I LOVED the Thundercats, although I kept getting them mixed up at first. Towards the end though, they were easier to distinguish, but I think this was done purposefully. Without giving away too much, it’s to do with the uniformity of the society they live in and how their characters develop.

The book sucked me in straight away. I wanted to go back to the book (I’ve read a few books in the last fortnight where I didn’t really want to read more, so W.A.R.P 2 was such a nice change), I wanted to read more, I wanted to step onto the Chevie and Riley express and follow their stories. The historical detail was very well done (it definitely isn’t missing anything in the detail because of all the action and sci-fi/dystopia elements) and the characters just rose off the page.

The ending was frustrating (in a good way!) and I look forward to the next book in this series.

My only complaint was that I felt cut off from Chevie somehow. I didn’t have the connection to her that I did in the first book.

I can highly recommend this book for fans of Artemis Fowl, time travel, action-packed stories, historical fiction, and dystopia. This book is fantastic!

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars – a fantastic adventure!

4 thoughts on “Review: The Hangman’s Revolution (W.A.R.P #2) by Eoin Colfer

Leave a Reply

