Armchair BEA: Beyond the Borders

Image by Amber of Shelfnotes.com

Image by Amber of Shelfnotes.com

“If you’re a book blogger who can’t attend Book Expo America and/or the BEA Blogger Convention in New York this May, you don’t have to miss all the fun – this virtual convention is the place to be! Watch this space for all the news about daily blogging themes, discussions, giveaways and more! Armchair BEA is scheduled for May 26-31, 2014.”
 Quote and Image taken from Armchair Bea HQ
……………………………………………………………………………………………………….

As I mentioned in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday post, I’ve branched out a lot in the last six months or so, in terms of reading.

I used to read young adult (YA) or middle grade (MG) fantasy, the classics and a small amount of adult fantasy, and that was it,

Now, I read the YA “issues” books, a small amount of YA romance, a small amount of YA historical fiction, a bit of cosy crime, some literary fiction, and some steampunk, as well. I’m also delving into YA dystopia, and sci-fi (both adult and YA).

I’m too new at dystopia to say whether it’s working for me or not yet, but sci-fi is very hit and miss.

Vampires were new to me a year ago, but I enjoy some vampire fiction now. I’m a big fan of Vampire Academy, but I didn’t like House of Night or True Blood. I like vampires in books where there are lots of types of supernatural creatures, a lot more, I guess.

I’m not really into paranormal romance, unless there’s a lot more to the story. I don’t usually like the whole angel/devil thing either, yet I love Cassandra Clare and Laini Taylor.

What can I say? I’m trying pretty much everything lately, although I do have genres I won’t touch. (I have tried them, and they are not for me.)

What’s outside your comfort zone? What used to be, but isn’t any more? How widely or specifically do you read?

6 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Beyond the Borders

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    I figured out a while ago that I like werewolves better than vampires (and I DON’T want to examine that preference too closely), so I agree — if there are going to be vampires, I want other creatures as well.

    I was going to recommend Gail Carriger, I’m reading her now, but I did a search on your blog and I see you’ve already discovered her.

    Hope you’re having a good Armchair BEA!

    • I prefer werewolves to vampires too. I’ve never read anything exclusively werewolf though, I don’t think. Yep, I’m a huge Gail Carriger fan 🙂 I can’t wait for the next Finishing School book 🙂

    • I agree. I love being able to visit 5 different worlds/countries/universes in a week and not have to leave my sofa 🙂 It brings a whole new meaning to the phrase “staycation” 🙂

  2. Hm, I’m not into vampires or anything in the paranormal mode myself but I’m really impressed by how much you’ve broadened out from your usual genres. Maybe I should challenge myself more too

Leave a Reply

