Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I’ve Fallen In Love With This Year

ae239-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme was free choice.

I have branched out a lot with my reading, so far this year, and in no particular order, here are my top ten new (to me) authors:

1. John Green – I never thought I would like any of his stuff. I started reading his books after I branched out into more “issues” based YA. (Sorry, I don’t know what else to call them; I don’t want to say contemporary because that tends to mean romance, and that’s not what I mean).  In case you’re wondering, I’ve now read all five of John Green’s books. My favourite was Looking for Alaska, closely followed by The Fault In Our Stars. Paper Towns was ok but it naffed me off a lot. I didn’t enjoy An Abundance of Katherines. I loved Will Grayson, Will Grayson, but it took a few chapters to hook me.

2. Rainbow Rowell – I caught the buzz from the book blogging community when everyone was reviewing Fangirl. When I was browsing the new teen books in my local library, Fangirl was there, so I picked it up and I was HOOKED. It was a really special experience for me. Rainbow Rowell really GETS being different and incredibly anxious. I very recently read Attachments and enjoyed that too, although not as much as Fangirl.

3. Natalie Whipple – I came across Transparent while browsing the library’s ebook service and since they also had a paperback, I put in a request for it. It is amazing! The concept, the writing, the characters… Just, yes! I have the sequel to read, which I’m sure is going to be awesome, and I sincerely hope there are novellas. Many, many novellas.

4. Ally Carter – Like, why did it take me so long to find Gallagher Girls and Heist Society? WHY? I started with Heist Society, but it was those awesome butt-kicking Gallagher Girls that really won my heart.

5. Tamsyn Murray – Her series about ghosts and the people that can see them is not the best written series in the world, BUT the characters are really, really well-done and very likeable. The books are great for a lighter read, and I just found out last weekend that there is a novella available via Kindle. (If you don’t have a Kindle you can download the free Kindle app and read Kindle books on your phone).

6. Django Wexler – I reviewed Forbidden Library recently, because everyone was talking about it and it was still available on Netgalley at the time, and I AM SO BLOWN AWAY BY THIS BOOK! I have to read more about this world!! Seriously!

7. Jennifer Armentrout – Yes, yes, I know. I have only just finished my first Jennifer Armentrout book. It was Obsidian and I will post a review next week. The library I use is Armentrout-poor. They have the first three Lux books in ebook only. That’s it. Like, what?? Hopefully they will rectify this mistake soon!

8. Laini Taylor – Go me, late to the Karou party!

9. Jennifer E Smith – Get me reading contemporary romance! I do not normally read in this genre, but I was intrigued by The Geography of You and Me. I devoured that and then pounced on The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. I didn’t enjoy that one as much though. I love the covers and the titles are quirky too. The writing style is awesome and the characters always wonderful to read about.  Again, my library only has one Jennifer E Smith book (Statistical Probability).  😦

10. Michelle Harrison – I love her 13 Treasures series; it’s very well done. I thought it was oh-so predictable at one stage, but it turned out not to be. And man, I love Tanya and Oberon. I want me an Oberon!

Other authors I have discovered this year are: Lucy Clarke, Alyson Noel, Brandon Sanderson and Jay Asher. There are others, but those stick out most. Those are authors who I will actively seek out more books from.

Who have you discovered this year? Have you read anything by any of these authors? What did you think? Are any of these authors or their books especially close to your heart?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I’ve Fallen In Love With This Year

  1. John Green is one of my favourite authors! I started watching vlogbrothers in 2007 and that’s how I ended up reading his books. I’m not sure I would have picked them up otherwise. Forbidden Library is on my TBR list. It looks like a fun read!

    • Obsidian (by JLA) is good, but I did have some issues with it. I haven’t read any other JLA. I’m also behind on the Laini Taylor trilogy. Do you have a favourite John Green book? Mine is Looking for Alaska. 🙂

  2. I have yet to consider reading any of Green’s stuff. Why? I actually don’t have a reason for this LOL. Though, I think it’s in the genre themselves that deter me. Maybe. Out of the ones you’ve listed (and discounting the fact that I’m already a Fan-erson), I’ve yet to follow through with picking up a Jay Asher book. Maybe eventually, one day, soon, …in the future.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • I loved Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why, which was his debut. The format is so original. It’s not an easy read though. If you ever do start with John Green, I’d start with Looking for Alaska. Or Will Grayson, Will Grayson. That was co-authored by David Levithan and it was his chapters I liked the most. ! I wouldn’t blame you if you never got round to it because there are SO MANY BOOKS! #readallthethings 🙂 My TBR is crying and I haven’t read any Leigh Bardugo yet. Or Marissa Meyer.

      • Thirteen Reasons Why is actually the one I wanted to pick up! I’ve heard great things from Bardugo/Meyer as well but your guess is as good as mine when an open slot will ever exist for the more prominent reads at the top of one’s TBR…

    • I discovered Rowell this year and literally just read Attachments a week or two ago. I loved it, but my favourite is still Fangirl. I’m excited for Landlines, but haven’t read Eleanor and Park.(I wasn’t in the mood for a heartachey book at the time).

      Hopping over to your list! Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

