Armchair BEA 2014: Introducing Shelf of Melanie

Image by Amber from Shelfnotes.com

 

“If you’re a book blogger who can’t attend Book Expo America and/or the BEA Blogger Convention in New York this May, you don’t have to miss all the fun – this virtual convention is the place to be! Watch this space for all the news about daily blogging themes, discussions, giveaways and more! Armchair BEA is scheduled for May 26-31, 2014.”
 Quote and Image taken from Armchair Bea HQ
……………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Hello! I’m Melanie. I’m turning 24 this week and live in Wales, in the UK.
What was your favorite book read last year? What’s your favorite book so far this year?
Oh my! I discovered Cassandra Clare,  Angie Sage, Lev Grosman, Gail Carriger AND Richelle Mead last year!! How can I choose a favourite? Hmmm, well if we don”t include all the awesome series’ written by the above authors, I’d have to say Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher.
This year… I have discovered a lot more awesomeness this year too! If you really twisted my arm, then I’d go for Swimming at Night by Lucy Clarke (aka The Sea Sisters).
What does your favorite/ideal reading space look like? (Pinterest encouraged!) 
My perfect reading space would look something like this:

And it would have a mini fridge a little bathroom and a kettle. Plus lots of snacks and copious amounts of coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Pepsi, lemonade and iced tea for when it’s hot. And a little dog bed for my gorgeous terrier. I’d never have to leave!

Spread the love by naming your favorite blogs/bloggers (doesn’t necessarily have to be book blogs/bloggers). I am going to only list my favourite book blogs/bloggers. Here they are:

Words In A Teacup (Ren and Isa) Ren and Isa post a lot of good quality content and we have so many book-loves in common. I love their rating system and the voice of their posts. I also love their Pick For Me thing that they do for each other and their blog design is gorgeous.

The Mile Long Bookshelf (Amber) Another with gorgeous design. I love Amber, particularly for how personal the posts feel. It reads like she’s chatting to you and the whole site has such a nice atmosphere.

The Librarian Who Doesn’t Say Sssh (Tara)  Tara is awesome; I love her features, her reviews are awesome and she is very good with her words. I like Tara because although she runs one of the (what I would call), “big” book blogs, I don’t feel intimidated by her.

The Book Addict’s Guide (Brittany) The Book Addict’s Guide is an amazing blog! Brilliant features, regular (and high quality) content, detailed reviews…

Rinn Reads (Rinn) I love the design, the font, the detail… I love how natural everything feels. Another very down-to-earth blogger.

Oh The Books (Kelley, Leanne and Asti) Oh the Books is probably my favourite blog. The design is awesome, the bloggers are awesome, and the content is awesome! I never feel intimidated and my comments are always responded to.

Good Books and Good Wine (April) April is the person who inspired me to really get into book blogging. She doesn’t know that (because I’m a coward), but it was her blog that got me from sticking the odd review on my blog to having an actual book blog. I love April. I wish I could hug her, because I think she’s brilliant.

On Starships and Dragonwings (Anya) This is another really incredible blog. Detailed reviews, awesome design, a lovely voice. And dragons. Did I mention the dragons?

Pretty Little Reader (Kelly) I love the detail in Kelly’s posts. Her discussion posts are really good.

Thoughts and Afterthoughts (Joey) I love Joey’s blog because of how original the Top Ten Tuesdays are. So creative 🙂

I sincerely apologise if I’ve anything is spelt wrong or I’ve got someone’s name or blog name wrong!

Share your favorite book or reading related quote. 

 

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three books would you bring? Why? What three non-book items would you bring? Why?

Just three? Oh boy. Cheating is required. Harry Potter omnibus, Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit omnibus, and Discworld omnibus. These are my three favourite worlds to get lost in, and what, if bullied enough, I would list as my top three series of all time.

For non-books, paper, pens and chocolate. I HAVE to be able to write. And the chocolate is because… Well, since when does chocolate need a because? :p

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2014: Introducing Shelf of Melanie

  1. Hello Melanie! Happy (Early?) Birthday! I also love the Harry Potter books and the LOTR books. (I named my daughter Arwen. i also have an HP tattoo and a LOTR one). Nice to meet you! Have fun this week!

    • Discworld is the perfect solution to all your desert island entertainment problems. The only problem would be holding an omnibus edition up! But then you would end up with mega arm muscles! Good for building a raft to get off the island. 🙂

    • And there would be nobody to start talking to you right in the middle of THAT awesome scene – you could read undisturbed because no one would know where you were 🙂 I live alone, so it’s not really an issue for me any more, but it used to be a pet peeve of mine. I will hop over to your Intro post in a bit. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Aww, thank you for the lovely words!! 😀

    If I had that reading spot, I would never leave… I’d smuggle some snacks & a kettle in to make lots of tea, and stay there all the time 😉

  3. Hi Melanie! I put LotR and The Hobbit on my list of three books as well but I counted them as two. Putting the omnibus is a good idea!! I look forward to reading your posts 🙂

    • I don’t even know if there is an omnibus with all of them; but if not, there should be! I should have stuck the Silmarillion in there too. 🙂 A desert island Middle Earth reading bonanza. 🙂

  4. Eyyyy. So very kind of you to say such nice things about them weekly lists. I’ve curated some weird options to consider dabblingn with, so here’s to hoping that you’ll continue to enjoy them!

  5. Hi, Melanie! I’ve read a few of Cassandra Clare’s books and enjoy them, although I’m not a fan of her personally. I try to set that aside. I love Lev Grossman’s “The Magicians” series! Is that what you read, recently? I can’t wait for the third book. We agree on pens/paper and the Harry Potter series for that deserted island! I can’t believe I forgot chocolate… doh!

    • Which ones have you read? Do you have favourite characters at all? Mine is Tessa Gray. I’m more of a fan of the prequel trilogy than the Mortal Instruments. I feel I’m in the minority there. Yes, I lvoed Magicians. It’s gets a bit too dark towards the end of the second one for my personal tastes, but I am excited for the third one! I’ve also read his stand alone, Codex, which is good, but not as good as Magicians. I had a hard time choosing between coffee and chocolate, if I’m honest, but I can consume much higher quantites of chocolate than I can coffee, so chocolate won. Also, desert islands are hot, and I can’t do hot drinks when it’s hot. Iced coffee though… Mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

