Library Trip: See What I Got Out This Week

Created with Nokia Smart Cam

Well here’ s what I brought home this week! Except for Maxie, he didn’t come from the library, but he wanted in on the photo-taking 🙂

(Links take you to Goodreads and should open up in a new tab.)

Blindsided by Natalie Whipple : this is the sequel to Transparent, which if you haven’t already read you really should do!! It’s a favourite of mine; I love it. If you like high school stories, a bit of romance (it is only a bit), and superheroes, you will like this. Seriously, if you’re a superhero and YA fan, you need to read this! Almost everyone in this futuristic world has some kind of ability, like invisibility, super-strength etc. But the characters are just regular high school joes.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Lain Taylor : I started reading this in the bath on Wednesday after an awful day. I LOVE IT!! It’s been a while since I’ve been so taken with a main character and wanted to crawl into the book and live there with them. Karou is awesome! And I now love Laini Taylor for both boosting my mood and getting me back on the horse with my own writing (which I’d abandoned in favour of a hot bath).

Deep Blue Sea by Tasmina Perry : I spotted this on the new books shelf by the door and decided to go for it as it seemed a bit like Swimming at Night (aka The Sea Sisters), which I LOVED. (And highly recommend!)

The Giver by Lois Lowry : This edition came with lots of extra stuff at the back. I love me some bonus content! You can see my bookmark in this one, but I gave it up after five chapters. It was just a bit too harsh for me. It struck a nerve. Maybe I will go back to it at some point in the future though.

A Heart Bent Out of Shape by Emylia Hall : Another from the new books shelf. I had seen this one on BookBridgr but didn’t request it as I wasn’t sure I would be able to review it.

Have you read any of these?

Leave a Reply

