Sequel Spring Challenge: Update One

Sequel Spring is a challenge hosted by  Words in a Teacup . It runs from March 20th to June 20th and the aim of the game is to read as many sequels/prequels/any-book-but-the-first one as you can during that time. You can still sign up and you can add your sequel reviews to Ren and Isa’s linky tool.

As someone who has A LOT of series’ on the go, I wanted to do this challenge to get some series’ finished. I planned on reading 24 books from 8 different series’.

Here’s what I’ve read so far:

Series 1: The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.  I was up to book five when I started the challenge, so I have book five and book six to read before June 20th. I have made absolutely no progress on this one so far, but City of Lost Souls is going to be my next read. I think. (You never know with me; I’ll probably end up reading something else. Hey, I’m a not-in-the-mood-for-this-today-but-I-am-in-the-mood-for-THIS kind of reader. )

Series 2: Alex Rider by Anthony Horowitz. I’d only read the first two beforehand, and have now read books 3 to 8.

Series 3: Gallagher Girls by Ally Carter. I had all bar the first one to read here. I now just have the last one to read. I’ve also read the Gallagher Girls/Heist Society crossover (which I shall be reviewing soon).

Series 4: Heist Society by Ally Carter: I just had the most recently released book left to read of this series, which I finished yesterday. 🙂

Series 5: Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. Yes, I know, kick me, I haven’t finished this one yet. I have the last two to read. No progress on this for Sequel Spring so far.

Series 6: Ruan by Zoe Marriott. I couldn’t actually get hold of the first one, so I started with the second. That appears to be all there is currently available, but let me tell you now, Frostfire is AMAZING, and you don’t need to have read the first one. I’m fairly sure it’s just set in the same world. I think the books follow different characters in the same world. I don’t think it’s a series in that it’s one storyline over numerous books. A bit like Discworld in that, I guess.

Series 7: Confessions of A…. by Dyan Sheldon. No it’s not my usual thing, but I enjoyed the film for cheese and nostalgic reasons, so checked out the first book and then discovered it was a trilogy. I haven’t read the last two yet though.

Series 8: 13 Treasures by Michelle Harrison. I read all three of these since Sequel Spring started, but the first one doesn’t count. There is a fourth one out soon, but I am apprehensive about this. I worry it will ruin the initial trilogy and become yet another author trying to force a series to go on forever. The trilogy is amazing! The second and third books are miles better than the first one though.

Bonus Sequels: Oh yes, I even managed a bonus book already! The Wilful Princess and the Piebald Prince by Robin Hobb. Kick me again, I have read and loved fantasy since I was a child and not once picked up a Robin Hobb book.

Book Count so Far: 15/24 plus 1 bonus book

 

4 thoughts on “Sequel Spring Challenge: Update One

  1. Isa says:

    Ahhh, I read the last Gallagher Girls one the other day! My review (well, a very short ramble, rather) is going up tonight. I HOPE YOU ENJOY THE LAST BOOK BECAUSE I AM NOW SAD AND UPSET THAT IT’S OVER I WANT MORE

    And I’m totally going to start on Heist Society next, heh. I am very excited. I completely forgot how much I enjoyed Ally Carter’s books.

  2. The last one is waiting for me at the library so in a few days we can be sad together 🙂 Have you read the crossover novel? It’s free on Ally Carter’s site. It’s set between Book 5 and 6 (Gallagher Girls) and Book 2 and 3 (Heist Society – btw the third one is amazing!). You’d probably want to read the first two Heist Society novels first though, as it is more Heist than Gallagher. And there is kind of a big spoiler for Heist 2. There is also http://www.thegallagheracademy.com/index.php If you sign up (don’t forget your username as there’s no way to reset). Once you’re logged in click Classified and there are ten short pieces about what the others were doing when Cammie disappeared. I apologise if you already know all this!

    • Isa says:

      I didn’t know that yet, so I’m super stoked about all this new info. 😀 😀 And thanks for the tip with the crossover because I definitely want to read it but I wasn’t sure when would be appropriate. 😀 Ahhh I am excited all over again.

Leave a Reply

