Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters Who I Genuinely Want As Friends

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme is Ten Characters Who… (You fill in your own ending to that). I chose to do characters I genuinely feel a particularly deep connection to and would love it if they were real and friends of mine. Super-cheesey, but I like it. 🙂

So, in no particular order:

1. Tessa Gray from the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare: I love her voracious reading habit and her desire to discuss books with others. I also love how she’s quite quiet but is actually very strong. I just love that combination. Strong characters who aren’t loud and who don’t immediately come across as “kick-butt”.

2. Cammie Morgan from the Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter: I just love Cammie! She’s sweet and I get this odd urge to protect her, because although she’s a kick-butt spy, she is very emotionally vulnerable. Maybe it’s just me, but I get the impression she’s affected by things a lot more than she lets on.

3. Isabelle Lightwood from the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare: I was always drawn to Isabelle, and I didn’t really work out why until the third book. She’s another “seemingly kick-butt but actually very affected by things” kinda gal. (I’m a sucker for that, in case you hadn’t already noticed. :p )

4. Hazel Lancaster from The Fault In Our Stars by John Green: I can’t put into words how selfless Hazel is. And it wasn’t something that hit me straight away. It took the ending of the book for me to realise how selfless she is and how genuine she is in that. It just really made me love her. A lot.

5. Tanya Fairchild from the 13 Treasures series by Michelle Harrison: Tanya hit me as being different from your average teenage female protagonist. I can’t explain why, she just seemed different. I love the bond she had with her dog Oberon too.

6. Alexia Tarabotti from the Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger: I love Alexia! She’s so refreshing and totally doesn’t fit the stiffness of her era. I love how much she loves food and isn’t afraid of that – most ladies in her era would be horrified. I like women who like food!

7. Angua von Uberwald from the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett: Another “different character”. She’s a woman in a “man’s” profession and she completely holds her own.

8 and 9. Alex Rider and Jack Starbright from the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz: Alex ,because I am getting seriously worried about him having just finished book eight. I have this need to take him under my wing and look after him. And Jack just because I love Jack and she has so much to deal with, with Alex and MI6 and all.

10. Sophie Newman from the Nicholas Flamel series by Michael Scott: I love this girl. She’s basically pushed into all these massive things and given a ton of responsibility, and nobody even stopped to ask her what she wanted with her life. And yet, she stays true to herself and she doesn’t become bitter or anything. Also, her brother is a moron and irritates the heck out of me, so I figured she could use some decent companionship.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters Who I Genuinely Want As Friends

Leave a Reply

