Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

 

“Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.


Lucy and Owen’s relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and — finally — a reunion in the city where they first met.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith’s new novel shows that the center of the world isn’t necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.” – Goodreads Description

NB: I received this book from Headline in exchange for an honest and fair review.

The first thing I loved about this book was the feel. Within a few paragraphs I had a feel for the setting in a way I’ve never experienced before. As the story progressed and we visited more settings, I had a really deep connection to them. That said, the author doesn’t bombard you with description, it’s just very well-done so that it all feels so real.

The characters were also very profound (this isn’t a light book; I found it very heavy, yet it made the book what it is for me and I consider this a positive point), and I had a deep connection to Owen and a pretty good connection to Lucy too. I could relate to their parental problems and I LOVED the connection between the two of them. It reminded me of the connection between Hazel and Augustus in The Fault In Our Stars.  I would have liked to have seen more set-up before the travelling kicked in, but otherwise their relationship worked, they were likable characters, and they were both very easy to relate to.  I didn’t get an image of them in my head though, which is really unusual for me.

This isn’t a book to rush through; I think it’s best read slowly. It’s one to take your time over and savour. The writing is fresh and modern and the book feels different and refreshing.  The cover is beautiful and I take great pleasure in staring at it.  🙂 I can see The Geography of You and Me being very popular with teenagers and “new adults”. (I’m nearly 24 and I loved it, so I don’t see why adults wouldn’t  enjoy this one too.)

Thank you for giving me the book Headline! 🙂

My Rating: 4 out of 5 – a must-read for travel-hungry teens in love.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. I was lucky enough to get an ARC of this too! I’m so glad you liked all the same things I did!! It’s become one of my favourites of the year so far!

    • 🙂 I want to read it again this summer. Outside when it’s seriously hot. It’ll be perfect 🙂 I just love the writing. And the cover is beautiful too. Did you have a favourite character? Mine was Owen. Unusual for me, as I’m normally drawn to the female characters more. But I did love Lucy too. 🙂

      • I thought Owen was great, I preferred him to Lucy just because I found his backstory a little more interesting, I just found their little post card courtship adorable!

Leave a Reply

