Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

”  You can’t stop the future.

You can’t rewind the past.

The only way to learn the secret is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker – his classmate and first love – who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

Hannah’s voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

All through the night, Clay keeps listening – and what he discovers changes his life… forever. “

Goodreads Description

 

Why I Picked It Up

I chose to read this one because I felt like something quite deep and emotional. I’ve just got into the young adult “heartbreakers” and I’m enjoying them immensely. The book that got me into the more emotional YA novels was Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher.

 

What I Liked

  • I loved the unique and interesting layout – the two voices (Hannah on the tape and Clay listening) interwoven the way they were.
  • As soon as I was a few pages in I knew that this book was going to be special, and I knew I had to finish it in one sitting. Some books just call to me to be read in one go, and as this was set mostly across just one night, reading in one sitting really enhanced the experience of the novel for me. I felt like I was on the emotional journey that Clay was on. I felt like this one cataclysmic night was one cataclysmic night for me too.
  • The feels!
  • The way the book built up from Hannah’s freshman year where there were a few incidents, to her junior year where things got significantly worse. As a reader, I was on that journey with Hannah. The build-up was done so well and was so gripping. I loved the depth of it.
  • The connection between Hannah and Clay. By the end of the book my heart hurt. It was beautifully written but heartbreaking. I know it seems like “Well if it hurt so much why was it good?” But it was; there was something about it, something beautiful. I think this was maybe the writing; the way it was written. Whatever it was, it was a beautiful book.

                                   What I Didn’t Like

  • At first I didn’t like ANY of the characters, especially not Hannah. There were still elements of Hannah that I really didn’t like by the end, but these were nothing compared with all the other feelings I had about the book when I’d finished.
  • It was slow to build up but looking back at it, this made the ending so much more… profound.

 

   My Rating

5 out of 5 – a new personal favourite 

Leave a Reply

